KuppSPc.jpg
My name is Michael Kupperman. I'm a comic artist, illustrator, and writer who lives in New York City. I'm the author of three books of comics: Snake'N'Bacon's Cartoon Cabaret, Tales Designed to Thrizzle Volume 1, and Tales Designed to Thrizzle Volume 2.  I also wrote and illustrated the humorous book Mark Twain's Autobiography 1910-2010
My new book is called ALL THE ANSWERS. It's a total departure from everything I've done before. It's a serious graphic memoir about my attempts to discover the truth of my father and his childhood, when he had been a famous "child prodigy" on the radio and TV show Quiz Kids, even as he escapes into dementia. I've been working on it for years.
The book involves a lot of elements. There's WW2, anti-semitism, popular culture of the 1940s and 1950s, the quiz show scandal, intelligence, and more. But most of all it's a book about human relationships, about discovery, and fathers and sons.
ALL THE ANSWERS is coming out from Gallery 13, a division of Simon and Schuster, and will be available wherever finer books are sold. 

"Kupperman's varied angles, thick line work, staring seriocomic facial stylings, and sharp prose help turn an already incredible story into an electrifyingly fast-paced, yet intimate memoir about family secrets and the price children can pay for their parents' ambitions."

-Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"In the vein of Alison Bechdel's Fun Home, Kupperman's remarkable graphic memoir brings his father-- the Quiz Kid himself, Joel Kupperman-- to gorgeous, painful life."

-Entertainment Weekly

"This pop culture history won't just teach you something; it'll make you feel all the feels, too."

-Pop Sugar

"In this disquieting nonfiction work, Joel’s son, cartoonist Michael Kupperman, unearths his father’s now-forgotten fame and elucidates the trauma that it inflicted. Michael is one of the finest and most recognizable writer/artists in the industry, known for his fantastically funny Tales Designed to Thrizzle series, and one sits in awe at this stark change in tonal course. His rotoscope visual style is firmly intact, but the story he’s telling is a heartbreaker that delves into psychological trauma, the evolution of broadcast media, and — of all things — the legacy of American anti-Semitism. Readers looking for a graphic memoir in the vein of Fun Home and Can’t We Talk About Something More Pleasant? will find much to admire here."

-Vulture

 

Alltheanswerscover.png
Screen Shot 2018-03-23 at 12.58.04 PM.png

"Really enjoyed reading All the Answers, a graphic novel telling the true story of [Kupperman's] 'Quiz Kid' father. Poignant and funny and sad."
-Jake Tapper, CNN

“A moving tale of fathers and their sons. A cautionary fable from the primal dawn of the Age of Celebrity. This book is brilliant.”
—Grant Morrison

"Tender, brilliant, beautiful, and fascinating. How lucky we are that Michael Kupperman has this story to tell."
-Julie Klausner

"Michael Kupperman has crafted a deeply personal and fascinating graphic novel about his father, a man whose life as a child prodigy was ironically both a dark family secret and one of the most well-documented in American history.”
-"Weird" Al Yankovic

"A beautiful, haunting, unsettling book that will move anyone who's ever struggled to understand a loved one's silences.”
-Greg Pak

“A brilliant and compelling multi-generational comic-tragedy…. Should make contemporary know-it-alls question the value and uses of knowledge in the internet age.”
-Ben Katchor

"ALL THE ANSWERS isn't just a fascinating slice of pop-culture history, it's also a moving and deeply personal portrait of America's first celebrity know-it-all."
-Ken Jennings, longest-running Jeopardy champion

Screen Shot 2018-03-23 at 12.58.29 PM.png
Screen Shot 2018-03-23 at 12.55.58 PM.png