KuppSPc.jpg

Hi! I'm a comic artist, illustrator, and writer who lives in New York City.

 

I'm the author a graphic novel called All The Answers, and three books of comics: Snake'N'Bacon's Cartoon Cabaret,Tales Designed to Thrizzle Volume 1, and Tales Designed to Thrizzle Volume 2.  I also wrote and illustrated the humorous book Mark Twain's Autobiography 1910-2010.

 

My new book All The Answers is a total departure from everything I've done before. It's a serious graphic memoir about my attempts to discover the truth of my father and his childhood, when he had been a famous "child prodigy" on the radio and TV show Quiz Kids, even as he escapes into dementia. I've been working on it for years.

The book involves a lot of elements. There's WW2, anti-semitism, popular culture of the 1940s and 1950s, the quiz show scandal, intelligence, and more. But most of all it's a book about human relationships, about discovery, and fathers and sons.

All The Answers is published by Gallery 13, a division of Simon and Schuster, and is currently available available wherever finer books are sold.

“Really enjoyed reading All the Answers, a graphic novel telling the true story of [Kupperman's] 'Quiz Kid' father. Poignant and funny and sad.”

— JAKE TAPPER, CNN

“In the vein of Alison Bechdel's Fun Home, Kupperman's remarkable graphic memoir brings his father-- the Quiz Kid himself, Joel Kupperman-- to gorgeous, painful life.”

— ENTERTAINMENT WEEKLY

“Michael Kupperman has crafted a deeply personal and fascinating graphic novel about his father, a man whose life as a child prodigy was ironically both a dark family secret and one of the most well-documented in American history.”

— "WEIRD" AL YANKOVIC